Danny Brown D-45 Build

Question about vintage gear? Wondering how to apply that new scale you are learning? This is the place for all things guitar.
mdrs
Founding Member

Danny Brown D-45 Build

Post by mdrs » Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:42 pm

My bud, Danny Brown, is building me a D-45 style acoustic. I need to chose an inlay for the headstock. I wanted to keep the headstock and fretboard inlays pretty close to the traditional style.

Martin mostly made plain guitars. Fancy inlays were very rare. However, the few fancy ones that they made were pretty darn cool. Here's a good example.....it's a 00-45 from 1902......check out the inlay on the headstock (I think this is a Robert Corwin photo);

I want something similar to this. As an eye surgeon, I wanted to incorporate an eye into it. Here are three possible candidates for the inlay;

Which one do you like? Anyone have any other suggestions or ideas? (Vince and Craig???? :wave: )

Note that my D-45 will have a solid headstock, not the slotted style.
Don

"There once was a note, Pure and Easy. Playing so free, like a breath rippling by."
"The guitar is such a great friend... If you play guitar, you are already blessed."

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=574296

Dr. Ellwood
Founding Member

Re: What do you think?

Post by Dr. Ellwood » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:33 pm

I like the third one down Doc!! very NICE INDEED!!!
I wonder now, what was his fate? Is he on the run? Or did his lights go out tonight? Will he see the sun? Star Trek "It may be the warriors who get the glory, but it's the engineers who build societies."

The String Network Forums

revolead
Silver Member

Post by revolead » Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:47 am

Dr. Ellwood wrote:I like the third one down Doc!! very NICE INDEED!!!
Agreed.

Greg B.
Charter Member

Post by Greg B. » Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:36 am